Chronos Awards


The Continuum Foundation is proud to announce the ballot for the Chronos Awards for excellence in Victorian Science Fiction, Fantasy, and Horror in 2011.

Best Long Fiction
Guardian of the Dead, Karen Healey (Little, Brown)
Madigan Mine, Kirstyn McDermott (Pan MacMillan Australia)
No Award

Best Short Fiction
Albert & Victoria/Slow Dreams, Lucy Sussex
Her Gallant Needs, Paul Haines
The Scoundrel’s Wife, Ben Langdon
Bread and Circuses, Felicity Dowker
No Award

Best Artwork
Australis Imaginarium, Shaun Tan
No Award

Best Fan Writer
Alexandra Pierce
Chuck McKenzie
Ian Mond
Bruce Gillespie
No Award

Best Fan Written Work
“Review: The Secret Feminist Cabal by Helen Merrick”, Alexandra Pierce
“Review: Soulless by Gail Carriger”, Alexandra Pierce
“Deathless by Catherynne Valente – A spoiler free review”, Ian Mond
No Award

Best Fan Artwork
Continuum 6 Props, Rachel Holkner
No Award

Best Fan Publication
Boxing Day Super Mega Podcast, Alexandra Pierce, Alisa Krasnostein, Tansy Rayner Roberts, Jonathan Strahan, Grant Watson, and Ian Mond
Galactic Suburbia, Alex Pierce, Alisa Krasnostein and Tansy Rayner Roberts
The Writer and the Critic, Ian Mond and Kirstyn McDermott
Bad Film Diaries, Grant Watson
Live Boxcutters Doctor Who at AussieCon IV, Josh Kinal and John Richards
No Award

Best Achievement
Snapshot 2010, Alisa Krasnostein, Kathryn Linge, Rachel Holkner, Alexandra Pierce, Tansy Rayner Roberts, Tehani Wesseley
Programming: AussieCon IV, Sue Ann Barber and Grant Watson

The award for Best Fan Artist is not being presented due to insufficient nominations being received.

Voting Procedure
When completing a ballot, please vote for your first preference in a category by placing a number 1 against it. Further votes in the same category are optional and should be numbered sequentially in order of preference. Voting in all categories is not required.

Completed votes from Continuum 7 members (full or supporting) may be sent by:

1. email to; or
2. post to:
Chronos Awards Committee
65A Limestone Ave

To confirm voting eligibility please include your Continuum 7 membership number or receipt number.

If you are not a member of Continuum 7 but wish to vote for the Chronos Awards, a voting membership is available from the Continuum Foundation for $5. If you are interested in obtaining a voting membership please contact for more information.

All votes must be received by Sunday 15 May 2011. Late votes will not be considered, late postal votes will be returned to sender unopened. The Chronos Awards Committee is not responsible for any delays in post or mail.

The key dates for the 2011 Chronos Awards are:

Nominations Open: Sunday 23 January 2011
Nominations Close: Sunday 27 March 2011
Voting Opens: Sunday 3 April 2011
Voting Closes: Sunday 15 May 2011
Awards Announced: Continuum 7.

These dates were first announced here.

The Continuum Foundation Wiki has information on the history and the rules of the awards. Please contact the awards committee for more information at