NAFF Race for 2014

Welcome to the NAFF race for 2014. The National Australian Fan Fund (NAFF) was created to assist fans to travel across Australia to attend the National Science Fiction Convention (Natcon). NAFF assists fans to travel to the Natcon and covers the costs of airfares and accommodation. The Natcon donates a convention membership.

This year’s successful delegate will be attending Continuum X: Carnival of Lost Souls (the National SF Convention) in Melbourne over the weekend of 6th – 9th June, 2014. More information about the convention can be found at

It is expected that the winner will produce a report of their trip, engage in fundraising to support future NAFF races, and to help administer the NAFF race for the following two years.All Australian fans are eligible to vote. The voting process contributes to the fundraising so each vote costs $5. You are more than welcome to donate more than this amount!

Votes are being collected by: Sarah Lee Parker, John Parker (WA) and the candidates. For more information please contact Sarah at Voting opens Friday 18th April, 2014 and concludes at Midnight (AEST) Sunday 11th May, 2014.

Please make all cheques payable to NAFF or National Australian Fan Fund. Contact Sarah if you wish to pay via Paypal. Direct deposits to: NAFF (NAB), BSB: 083 004, ACC #: 13 949 2150 Cash, in person, is welcome, but not through the mail! Postal address: NAFF, PO Box 249, Pascoe Vale South, VIC, 3044

Tehani Wessely

I’ve been involved in the Australian speculative fiction scene since 2001, attending my first convention in 2002. I’m a book geek and a Doctor Who nerd, volunteer for way too much stuff including being on the Natcon 50 organising committee, several years of working with the Andromeda Spaceways crew, helping run the ASif! reviews website for a few years, and judging or acting as judging co-ordinator for the Aurealis Awards for several years.

Nominated by: Cat Sparks (NSW), Sarah Parker (WA), and PRK (VIC)

Matthew Lindus

I have been an active member of the Perth SF community since moving here in 1998, originally through university clubs, and started attending conventions in 2001. Since then I’ve been on multiple committees for Genghiscon and Swancon in various positions. I helped to implement the accessibility protocols for Swancon and have a real desire to assist people with mobility issues to be included equally in all events. I hope to be able to meet with more people from around Australia and to see how other conventions manage their accessibility issues.

Nominated by Kylie Ding (WA), Samara Morgan (WA), and Msquared (WA)

You may also choose to vote ‘Hold over funds’ if you think that a delegate should not be selected this year or you can choose to ‘write in’ in the name of another candidate.



Voter’s Name: _____________________________________________________


Method of payment: ___________________________________________________


Please indicate your vote by placing a tick in the box indicating your preferred choice or writing in a candidate’s name.

Tehani Wessely                                    □

Matthew Lindus                                  □

Hold over Funds               □


Write in candidate: ___________________________________________________